

Professor Stephen Twigg

Current roles

University of Sydney, Sydney Medical School Faculty of Medicine and Health

2003-present

Head of Central Clinical School, substantive appointment (2022-present),

I am responsible for main aspects of clinical teaching of our medical students, including into Royal Prince Alfred Hospital, as well as supervision of academics and affiliates.

Kellion Professor of Endocrinology and Stan Clark Chair in Diabetes (2013-present)

Royal Prince Alfred Hospital RPAH Endocrinology Consultant

2003-present

Head of Department of Endocrinology (2013-present)

I undertake managerial responsibility for the Department with functions in a Clinical Stream framework, which includes medical consultant staff performance reviews and rosters, the Endocrinology advanced trainee supervision, and leadership in maintaining quality standards of quality care and clinical activity across the clinical Centres and Services within the Department. In this role, I also deliver clinical services at the Outback Vascular Health Service in the far-west of NSW to the Maari Ma Aboriginal Health Corporation.

Education and qualifications

University of Sydney, PhD

1999

University of Sydney, Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery (Hons-I)

1989

Royal Australasian College of Physicians, FRACP in adult Endocrinology 1996

Awards

Inaugural Diabetes Feet Australia, 'Outstanding Achievement Award for Diabetes-Related FootHealth and Disease', at the DFA Biennial Scientific Meeting on the Sunshine Coast

2021

2023

Australian Diabetes Society, 'Kellion Award', for outstanding leadership to the diabetes movement in research, education and service

National Association of Diabetes Centres, Centre of Excellence Award to Royal Prince Alfred Diabetes Centre (team award); Centre of Excellence Award to Royal Prince Alfred Diabetes Centre High-Risk Foot Service	2020-2023
Royal Prince Alfred Hospital , Research Medal Award for diabetes foot disease translational research.	2020
Department of Health Technology Recognition Award, Endocrinology Glucose M-Page to monitor glucose in hospital patients by the eMR (team award)	2019
DA-NSW Sir Kempson Maddox Award	2017
Inaugural JDRF Australia Advanced Career Researcher Development Award	2010
Mary Jane Kugel (JDRFI) Award, for 5 years continuous service on JDRF International grant review panel (diabetes complications)	2008
University of Sydney Central Clinical School , Tutor Award as Clinical Skills (physical examination) and Tutor Award in History Taking	2004

Board and other professional appointments

Kellion Advisory Committee of Diabetes Australia	2022-present
Member of Board of Governors	
Nervo, Spinal Stimulators Advisory Board	2020-present
Member	
D-Foot International	2019 – present
Australian Representative	
National Diabetes Services Scheme and Diabetes Australia Foot Forward Program	2019 - 2022
Honorary Chair	
National Association of Diabetes Centres Foot Network	2018 - present
Chair	
AstraZeneca, Diabetes Advisory Board	2018 - present
Member	
Abbott Diabetes Care, Diabetes Advisory Board	2017 – present
Chair	
Kellion Diabetes Foundation	2017 - 2021
Member of Board of Governors	
J. Diabetes & its Complications	2017 – 2020
Associate Editor	
Endocrinology Today	2014-present

Past Inaugural Editor-in-Chief, now Executive Board member	
National Health and Medical Research Council, Translational Research Faculty in Diabetes	2013 - 2015
Member	
International Diabetes Federation General Assembly	2011-present
Delegate	
ACI Diabetes/Endocrinology Network	2011-2018
Chair	
National Health and Medical Research Council, Executive of the National Health and Medical Research Council Clinical Care Guidelines in Type 1 Diabetes	2009-2011
Chair	
Australian Diabetes Society Council Member	2003-2010
elected Council Member (2003-2010)	
President (2008-2010)	
J. Cell Comm. and Signalling	2008-present
Editorial Board Member	
Specialist Advisory Committee in Endocrinology, Royal Australasian College of Physicians	2003-2010
Chair (2008 - 2009)	
Member (2003 - 2008)	
Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation Diabetes Research Complications Grant Panel (New York)	2003-2010
Member	
Diabetes Australia	2002-2010
Board Director	