NSW Health

New Technology and Specialised Services Committee Terms of Reference

Background

The New Technology and Specialised Services (NTASS) Committee provides strategic oversight to the NSW Ministry of Health's new health technology review and assessment function, and planning for Supra Local Health District (LHD) Services.

With the view of a system-wide approach, the NTASS Committee brings together Executive-level membership from the diverse areas of NSW Health with responsibilities in the review, assessment and purchase of new health technologies and highly specialised services for NSW public patients. This includes the Ministry of Health, which has responsibilities for technology evaluation and specialised services planning, system purchasing and performance reporting, health and medical research, and population and public health. The NSW Agency for Clinical Innovation, Cancer Institute NSW and the Clinical Excellence Commission provide expert clinical input.

Purpose

The NTASS Committee will support implementation of GL2018_023 *NSW Framework for New Health Technologies and Specialised Services* and provide advice to the Secretary with regards to new health technologies and specialised services in NSW.

The principles underpinning the framework and work of the NTASS Committee include:

- Assessment and advice will be evidence-based
- In the context of finite resources, prioritisation will guide decision making
- Collaboration among key NSW Health stakeholders
- Flexible and responsive approaches which will be adapted to the issue/service
- Alignment with the governance structures and roles of the Ministry, pillar organisations and local health districts / specialty health networks
- Alignment with the annual budget cycle and overall budget parameters.

NTASS Committee

Members

Ms Deb Wilcox, Deputy Secretary, Health System Strategy and Patient Experience Division, Ministry of Health (MoH) - **Chair**

Dr Kerry Chant, Chief Health Officer and Deputy Secretary, Population and Public Health, MoH

Mr Joe Portelli Executive Director, System Purchasing, MoH

Ms Annette Marley Director, Purchasing & Performance, System Purchasing, MoH

Ms Anne O'Neill, Executive Director, Office for Health and Medical Research, MoH

Dr James Mackie, Medical Director, Patient Safety, Clinical Excellence Commission

Dr Jean-Frédéric Levesque, Deputy Secretary, Clinical Innovation and Research Division and Chief Executive, Agency for Clinical Innovation

Professor Tracey O'Brien, Chief Executive, Cancer Institute

Mr Vince McTaggart, Executive Director, Strategic Reform and Planning Branch, MoH

Ms Leisa Rathborne, Executive Director, Assurance and Advisory, Health Infrastructure

Expert advice from relevant discipline areas will be sought as required.

Responsibilities Members will:

- Provide advice on emerging health technologies and horizon issues for Supra LHD Services
 Make recommendations to the Secretary regarding the purchasing of
 - new technologies, Supra LHD and/or specialised services
 - Prioritise nominations of new health technologies based on agreed prioritisation criteria
 - Provide advice on disinvestment opportunities to improve efficiency and effectiveness in health technology
 - Leverage available national and jurisdictional mechanisms including health technology assessment processes and consider innovative options for providing new health technologies and specialised services for public patients, to support a sustainable approach for the NSW public health system
 - Assist with the prioritisation of Supra LHD projects for existing services (as identified in annual local service agreements) and emerging needs for the state
 - Provide advice on recommendations to include and/or remove services from Supra LHD Services in the annual Service Agreements.

All meeting papers and other materials provided to the NTASS Committee will be considered confidential and may not be distributed to non-members without the Chair's consent.

Members should appoint a regular proxy to attend the meeting in their place if they are an apology.

- Meeting Three meetings per year to occur in March, August and November.
- **Frequency** Out of session document review as needed.
- Secretariat Specialty Service and Technology Evaluation Unit (SSTEU), Strategic Reform and Planning, MoH.

Projects arising from the NTASS Committee will be coordinated by SSTEU. Projects will be tailored to the issue being assessed and the information required by the Committee for evidence-based decision-making.

Review period To be reviewed and updated every two years.